“Being The Person God Created You To Be”

I am currently reading Messy Spirituality by Michael Yaconelli. In it, I came across a story that really moved me. There is a section where Michael points out what he appreciates about one of the characters from the story. I copied the section and “tweeked” it a bit by adding a little here and there and also putting in my name. I read what was before me and was overwhelmed with God’s love.

If you have a second, please read what is written below and put your name in the blanks:

“What I love about _________’s “life-story” is his/her stubbornness. Impervious to intimidation, resisting the limits of life’s script, he/she refuses to believe he/she has no place. Rather than life’s script limiting him/her, __________ finds a way to enhance the script, to fill it full of life and laughter and surprise. I love my __________ so much! He/She has not strayed from the unique traits I gifted him/her with. He/She has remained true to My original design for his/her life.”
-Your Father, Your Abba, Your Daddy

For those who know me well, it is obvious that I am not “normal”. I am not your average guy (for example, I do not care for sports, but I love cartoons). One of my goals in life is to always maintain the heart of a kid. I never want to “grow up” if that means not laughing hysterically at least once everyday, challenging my self to face my fears, allowing my self to learn new things, and being amazed by God’s sights, smells, and sounds.

But often times I look around me and realize just how different I am, and I start to feel insecure about the person God has crafted me to be. I start to question whether I should just fit that certain “adult mold” and blend in.

But that is not the type of person God has planned for me to be! For each of us, God has placed within our personalities unique and special ways to behave. I hope we all examine who God has crafted us to be and run with it! I hope we all take that roman candle that is our personality, allow God to light it, and hold it high as it explodes with color and noise into a dark and wonderful night sky.

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Personal Growth, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Being The Person God Created You To Be”

  1. Michael says:

    how dare you say you do not care about sports…Monday morning you are gonna get it. BY get it I mean you must 4 hours straight of ESPN news as therapy!

  2. adambayne says:

    HA! NO WAY! You’ll never get to me! NEVER!!!!

  3. Dude, I love that you are enjoying Messy Spirituality. It’s a challenging, yet thoughtful look at how the Christian life really is lived. You are one of my favorite people to pick on…and yes…you are different, but I love the addition you have been to our staff. You are an amazing children’s minister.

    Love you man…Rock on!

    Ron

    (Please do not expect anything nice from me for several weeks now.)

  4. Chelsea says:

    Wow! I needed to hear this. Thank you! 😀 you have a great attitude too. Im not “normal” either, and just knowing theres someone else out there, that thinks the way i do, well it makes me realize that being a kid at heart always is possible! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

