CS Volunteer Lindsey Frey: “This Is Why I Serve”

First off, I wanted to say that I feel honored in being able to write a blog for Cross Street! I have been a volunteer in CS for a little over a year now. I’ve always had a heart for kids, and I love the opportunity that I’m given every Sunday, and that is to teach them about the love of Christ.

I remember when I was a little girl in the church I attended Sunday school, which is somewhat similar to Cross Street. I had two teachers and I’m so APPRECIATIVE to both of them for taking out the time to invest in my life. They cared enough about me to teach me about the love of Jesus. Now that I’m older and looking back on those moments, I realize the importance of Sunday school, the Godly morals and values that I was taught, and how they have helped me become a part of who I am today.

In being a volunteer at Cross Street, I have formed relationships with my children and I have been able to see with my own eyes the work of the Lord in their lives. I have had the honor in being able to see several of my children come to know the Lord and be baptized!! I have also seen the compassion they have for others! Not too long ago we had a project called “Network.” We were raising money for families in Africa so they have nets to put over their beds to protect them from Malaria, which is a disease that is contracted by mosquito bites. In small group, several of my children did not only want to donate money, but they also wanted to donate their own personal belongings to these children and their families. These are only a FEW examples of what Christ is doing in the lives of our children through Cross Street!

Another thing I love about Cross Street is that we provide pamphlets for them to take home to learn more about God’s Word. They are called “God Time Cards.” These cards are so HUGE and really can make a difference in a child’s life when parents take the time out to encourage their kids to spend time in God’s Word. I remember as a little girl, my dad read a Bible story to my sisters and I every night before we went to bed. Looking back on that now I’m so thankful to my dad who took the time out to read to me about Jesus! Encouraging your child to read their Bible and to pray is the best thing you could ever do for them.

Adam Bayne has stepped up and done such a great job in providing these children with a fun- filled environment to come and worship Jesus. I am so thankful for how God has used him in our children’s ministry. I encourage anyone who wants to volunteer to get plugged in so you can be a part of what God is doing through Cross Street, but more importantly to invest in the lives of our children!

In closing, I want to say that I love what Cross Street is all about. I LOVE instilling in the children Godly morals and values to take with them throughout their week when they are at school, home, or out on the field! Since I decided to volunteer in Cross Street, I have been blessed by God in a TREMENDOUS way!!! It is such an encouragement for me personally to see what He is doing in the lives of our children!!! I’m so thankful to have the opportunity to serve Him! I’m so AMAZED at what God has already done and look forward to what He is going to continue to do in Cross Street!

Truly Blessed,
Lindsey Frey

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

