Jim Morrison, The Doors, and Grace Staff

I’ve had several conversations with music lovers who argue that other than Jim Morrison and Ray Manzarek (the keyboardist), the rest of The Doors were totally replaceable. I’ve always argued the exact opposite, saying that each member of The Doors were crucial to the fabric of the band’s music.

I spent my youth in different rock bands and can attest to the importance of looking at recruitment from a wholistic point of view. It’s not just about what bands they’ve been with in the past, how well they presently play, or their stage presence. All those things are important, but you must also factor in personality, ability to collaborate, and most importantly . . . do they “get” the vision? Obviously, The Doors did not think through all of these aspects because personalities within the band were constantly at battle . . . BUT, they all caught the vision and went for it.

I was asked by a close friend and mentor the other day where I see myself in 5 years. My response was that I hope to be where I am now, Grace Community Church, doing the same thing I am doing now . . . a Kid’s Pastor, with the exception of me having my own team (A guy can dream). To get the power of this response you have to get me. Up until the past three years I had no desire to enter ministry, and even when I felt called to do so I looked around and couldn’t find many churches where I would like to work. I had no desire to leave one failing system (Public Education-teachers are amazing but the system is a disaster) to enter into another failing system (church as usual).

But then I found Grace, or better yet, Grace found me. In Grace I saw what a healthy church looks like, and most importantly, behind closed doors I discovered a staff that was united and supportive. I can’t imagine working at another church because of what God is doing at Grace, all the relationships I have built here, and most importantly, I can’t imagine another staff that fits me better.

After being at Grace for a little over a year I have learned the main reason Grace’s staff is so healthy . . . SMART HIRING. Our leaders take the “Band Recruitment” approach and look at the person as a whole. Education, personality, background, and on and on. BUT even if you have all those things and yet can’t grasp the vision . . . it’s a “no go”.

This culture of smart hiring has produced a team that is so awesome that when I look around at our staff I honestly can’t imagine what it would be like without each and every one of them. What would Grace Acres be like without Katrina? Or what would worship be like without Jason and Dustin? That’s not to say that we can’t be replaced, but it’s obvious that each person on the Grace Staff, before being hired, was viewed from a wholistic point of view.

So, ROCK ON DOORS and ROCK ON GRACE!!!

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jim Morrison, The Doors, and Grace Staff

Leave a Reply

