When Others Can’t See

So, you are passionate about what you do, your well-trained, and some would even consider you to be a visionary . . . GREAT! Dreaming about what can be is a blessing. Taking something and reshaping it so that it is more effective, more relevant, and more successful is such a wild adventure, and if you are a true visionary working within the context of a field that you are passionate about then, in most cases, when you share your ideas they will be accepted with awesome enthusiasm from others. BUT, what about when others can’t grasp what you are wanting to do? What if no one else “gets it” but you are so sure that it will work?

I come up with ideas about the kids ministry I lead (Cross Street) almost daily. Other than my God and my family, Cross Street is on my mind like nothing else. Most of what I come up with to enhance Cross Street is well received by others whose opinions I greatly value. But there are those days when I come up with something that provides me with “weird, speechless stares” from others . . . LOL! If you’re a visionary you know exactly what I’m talking about. You have a dream that is so wild and crazy that others can’t seem to grasp what you are wanting to accomplish.

So then what do we do . . . us visionaries? I mean it’s easy when everyone is saying what an awesome idea you have, but what about when you hear only silence or at most, “Hmm, that’s . . . something” while they try not to look you in the eyes?

Hear me out, I have a SMALL circle of peeps in my ministry whose opinions I value to the point that if they shoot an idea down then I put that idea in an envelope, in a safe, in a bunker 10 feet underground. BUT, there are moments when I am so convinced that an idea will work that no matter what I will move forward. Why? Why not just listen to others and follow accordingly?

Sometimes you must “go for it” because you are the man or woman who is trusted with your position because you are the expert in that field. No one else thinks and dreams as much as you do about whatever it is you lead . . . PERIOD. Confidence is key in these situations, and you mustn’t be afraid to move forward even if the whole thing falls apart. No worries, nothing keeps a ministry or organization alive like taking risks every once in a while.

Bottom line: Listen to those you trust, but when you know that you know that you know something needs to be tested . . . GO FOR IT!

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry, Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

