Miss a Sunday . . .

In Kids Ministry we work LONG hours . . . putting our hearts into shaping, planning, and dreaming about environments that will equip parents and inspire kids. No matter how much we do in a given day, we still have a ZILLION other things to do tomorrow. Kids Ministry is full-throttle, high-octane stuff these days . . . AND US KIDS’ LEADERS LOVE IT.

But that doesn’t mean we can’t take a wrong turn and head down BURNOUT LANE from time to time. I am learning many ways to avoid the frustration and fatigue that comes with BURNOUT such as:

1. Delegating responsibilities to talented volunteers,

2. Making sure I am living out a healthy prayer life & reading God’s Word daily,

3. Spending plenty of time with my family (who recharges me),

4. And being flexible with my work day so that if I need to be alone I can be OR if I need to work outside of the office I can do that too.

I am also learning about another way to recharge my batteries . . . missing a Sunday at my AMAZING church. These past couple of weeks have been INTENSE to say the least. I noticed myself having to quietly deal with some feelings inside of frustration over the silliest stuff . . . a sure sign that I need to pump the brakes and rest up. Most of the time this can be solved by quitting early that day and spending time with family, or retreating to a quiet place to read . . . but I could tell it was time for me to get away for a few days in order to SHUT DOWN completely. So, my wife, little girl, and I are packing up to go to Chattanooga this weekend to spend time with friends and family.

Two reasons why this is good for my ministry:

1. It empowers my team to rise to a whole new level. As a Kids Pastor, I sometimes don’t realize how much I do on a Sunday . . . I’m amazed at how many of my volunteers will step up and own stuff I sometimes fool myself into thinking only I can do . . . they usually end up doing it BETTER than I can, HA!

2. Also, I will have a chance to recharge, to dream, and to come back on Monday inspired and fired up . . . READY TO ROCK! That’s good for me, my team, and the peeps on staff I work with everyday.

________________________________

Some suggestions before requesting the weekend off:

1. Go ahead and communicate with your key leaders that you are trying to work out a weekend off. Make sure all your bases are covered.

2. Next, go to your “higher up” and not only request the weekend off but be prepared to share why you think this is a smart move and a “win” not just for you, but for your team.

_____________________________________

Of course, this is something that doesn’t need to happen every Sunday, but I would suggest periodically scheduling Sundays off where you maybe go out of town OR you still attend your church . . . but only to experience BIG CHURCH. It is SO worth it!

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry, Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

