Kids Min Leaders and Your Spouses

The degree of health in my relationship with my wife, Marissa, will have a direct impact on my overall performance in ministry, how I grow as a leader in ministry, and whether or not people will follow me as a leader.

1 Timothy 5:8
“. . . Everyone should take care of his own family. If he doesn’t, he has left the faith. He is worse than someone who doesn’t believe.”

Here are some questions I recently asked my staff to process with their spouses, and I even posed the question to those on my team who are not married but are in a serious relationship:

1. On a scale from 1 to 10 . . . how well do you listen to your spouse or significant other? (This is a great question to ask your spouse from time to time)
2. When is the last time you did something special for your partner? On top of the awesome stuff we do on a regular basis . . . in what way have you gone above and beyond to show your partner how much they mean to you?
3. Where is your partner on your list of priorities in life?

The level of health in our marriages, second only to our relationship with Jesus, will spill over into our work whether we like it or not . . . a healthy marriage (or a healthy relationship with your significant other) coupled with a healthy relationship with Jesus will equal a healthy ministry.

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

