Every Year, Week, and Day Needs a Game Plan

shutterstock_Vector_Calendar_2013_110424602

I was reminded this week why I schedule stuff out in great detail. You see, last week I was away at a conference and failed to plan ahead what my week would look like upon my return. So this week I had no set schedule . . . sure, I knew what I needed to accomplish but it wasn’t set in stone on my calendar.

So what happened? I got it all done . . . but it was a stretch . . . it was messy . . . I was late on an assignment . . . and I was stressed! So today I focused on setting up my schedule for next week so I can get back on track.

Here’s how I schedule stuff out:

1. Schedule for the year . . .

It is important that I have my entire year mapped out with all the events in Kids Min, church-wide events, and personal stuff like vacations and B-Days. Be as detailed as you possibly can be . . . and also include all the steps and deadlines it will take to prepare for a particular event.

2. Schedule for the week . . .

I know some folks who schedule out their weeks in great detail months or even a year in advance . . . and that’s awesome! For me, I like taking Thursdays to plan out what my schedule will look like for the following week.

3. Post your schedule in more than one spot and stick to it . . .

I use the calendar on my computer, my phone, a wall calendar, and I write it out on my dry-erase board. As I enter dates and times on my calendar and write it out I’m locking in these events in my brain . . . making my weekly schedule almost a part of my DNA. I also set alarms on my computer and phone to remind me 15 minutes to a day in advance about an appointment.

Once all this is done . . . stick to it! Someone texts you saying they need to talk and it’s not an emergency, then schedule that talk for the following week so you can give that person a full 45 minutes to an hour if need be . . . it’s not rude to do this. In fact, asking someone to wait until next week is showing great respect because what you are saying is that they are worth your full and undivided attention.

4. Decide for yourself what situations and who can destroy your schedule . . .

My pastor needs me . . . BOOM . . . I’ll let him crash into my schedule without a second thought. My volunteers want to meet with me . . . BOOM . . . my schedule is out the window. A parent wants me to talk to their child about salvation and baptism . . . BOOM! My little girl or my wife needs me . . . BOOM . . . I’ll reschedule stuff to make that happen. Solidify in your mind what you are willing to demolish your schedule over . . . it will help I promise.

Do this or take it even farther for three months and you will become more productive and will be less stressed . . . go for it.

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry, Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

