Confessions From Your Kids Pastor

8-Excuses-You-Cant-Use-to-Avoid-Saving-for-Retirement

Grace Community Church,

As we wrap up 2013 and get ready for another great year, I hope that each of you will pray about volunteering at GCC as one of your New Year’s Resolutions. The life changing power of serving is exactly what so many of our church family need in order to experience that next step in their spiritual journey. I should know since I dealt with this issue myself.

When my wife and I were living in Chattanooga we found an incredible church. We made the commitment to attend on a regular basis, and that was a great first step. But soon I noticed I had stopped growing in my relationship with Jesus and my journey seemed to have reached a dead end. I remember asking God why I wasn’t progressing in my spiritual maturity, and soon afterwards a church member approached my wife and me about teaching their “20’s Sunday School Class.” We ran through the common excuses: we didn’t have time to commit, we didn’t know enough about the Bible, and Sunday was “our” day to relax.

Within a few days I responded, with great hesitation, by saying, “Sure, we’ll give it a shot.” I instantly felt like my spiritual growth was back on track. On top of that, our church experience went from a “what-can-we-get-out-of-it” mentality to a “what-can-we-do-for-the-people–of-our-church” mentality. All of our excuses melted away, and in its place God birthed a true partnership with our church and a faith in action.

Knowing the power of volunteering in my own life, I would like to challenge anyone currently not serving to get off the sidelines and dive in headfirst! In the kids ministry at Grace Community Church we have many volunteer roles to fit your personality. Email me at adam@gcomchurch.com so that I can set up a chance for you to observe our kids ministry in action. After that you can make an educated decision as to whether or not it’s the right fit for you. If not, I’ll help you set up a time on Sunday to see another ministry in action.

The question isn’t whether or not you’ll make serving at GCC a New Year’s Resolution, but rather will you let another year go by where you simply watch church happen, instead of being an active part of the Body of Christ and allowing Jesus to use you to make church happen? Stop wondering why your faith is stuck, simply do something at GCC, and watch your faith reach heights you never dreamed possible.

Imagine if every person that calls GCC “their church” simply did something to invest in Grace . . . all of those “somethings” would add up to an incredible movement that could impact all of Clarksville. Step up and step out in faith. Leave your excuses behind. Become a kingdom builder at Grace Community Church.

Sincerely,
Adam Bayne
Children’s and Preschool Pastor at Grace Community Church
adam@gcomchurch.com
1-931-802-3585

 

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry, Personal Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

