A Letter To All Kids Ministry Volunteers At GCC

IMG_4891

Hello Kids Ministry Team,

I know on Sundays it can be so fast-paced that it becomes difficult to see past our immediate roles to the big picture. I can easily lose sight of why I’m doing what I’m doing. But as I visited the different areas within GCC’s Kids Ministry at both the Rossview and Kenwood campuses yesterday I got to see the big picture again and it reminded me about “the why”. My big picture involved each of you working together as one to form the body of Jesus Christ, wrapping His loving arms around our children and supporting our parents.

I saw this big picture through Jason Barnhill of Kenwood talking to a bunch of Cross Street kids about creation; Pam Christenberry at Rossview and Shelia Carter at Kenwood warmly greeting parents at Check-In and making them feel welcome; Rossview’s Kasey Panczer, with a cast on her leg, leading worship in Cross Street with excitement and incredible energy; Kenwood’s Wendy Shackelford and John Bryant loving and investing in their Wonder Warehouse kids and making them feel so special; Rossview’s Michael and Melanie Davis giving 110% in Revolve even though it was hotter than you know what in the front of that school; And Mallory Fundora at Rossview loving on a new child at Grace with severe autism who came from a church that didn’t welcome his special needs.

I could go on and on all day long talking about volunteers like Tim and Lori Cribbs, Amanda Craig, Erin Johnson, Trisha Kemp, and all of you that pour your hearts out for these kids and their parents. But why? Why do you do this? Because each of us in Kids Ministry is called to a single mission . . . to help our kids grow in their relationship with Jesus Christ. But that mission can only be carried out when we allow the Holy Spirit to empower us to value and love every single child and their parents as if they were family.

That’s exactly what I saw yesterday . . . I saw God’s people at GCC value and love every single parent and child, and every Sunday that we “value and love”, we win. That win gets us one step closer to our mission, helping kids grow in Christ.

I thank you for reminding me why I do what I do and for making Sundays not only magical for all the kids we serve, but for my little girls as well.

About Adam Bayne

I'm the Children's Pastor at Grace Community Church in Clarksville, TN, a heavyweight Disney nerd, a lightweight sports fan, and an all-out fan of my wife and two daughters.
This entry was posted in Children's Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

